Is 69 the New 27?   2 comments

People of a certain age, my age, may (or may not ) remember the fear of 27 that was prevalent among the earliest wave of baby boomers in 1970. I wonder if there’s a name for the  fear of 27. I  know there’s a name for the fear of 13. It’s triskaidekaphobia. If you think that’s hard to pronounce, try spelling it.

(Since I went to the trouble of googling fear of 13 to find the term, I might as well share where it stems from. Wikipedia lists several sources, The Last Supper, being one. Judas was the last one seated at the table – the Twelve apostles, and then Mr Iscariot.)

As for 27, it was an age we feared reaching because of the “trouble comes in threes” deaths of three of our most beloved rock stars:

Jimi Hendrix on September 18, 1970

Jimi

Janis Joplin on October 4, 1970

Janis

Jim Morrison on  July 3, 1971

Jim

Since they were all 27 when they died, we Baby Boomers were sure we’d never survive that dreaded year either. I know it sounds dramatic, viewed this many years later, but hey, it was all about us. Wasn’t everything about us? Even though it would be another three years before we started to turn 27 in 1973, and we’d lost no one else in the intervening years, we all breathed a sigh of relief when we turned 28.

The deaths of David Bowie and Alan Rickman last week at age 69 brought it all back. Ironically those of us who were the first to blow out 27 candles are all 69 now. Just saying.

Keep in touch!

 

2 responses to “Is 69 the New 27?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I guess I was a little too young to get in on the “fear of 27” thing, but I do remember when all of those mentioned died. The recent deaths of several celebrities (plus some deaths of classmate’s husbands, and Ed’s recent close call) have alerted me to my own immortality, as well as those all around me. Yikes! Time is running out! What a sobering thought that is…

  2. Where did the time go…I wasn’t 27, but I was a sophomore in highschool and remember the deaths.

Leave a Reply

