Why?   2 comments

Now that the cold temperatures are here and I have no garden tales to tell, I’m finally getting around to a subject I’ve been mulling around for some time. It’s a topic that’s near and dear to my heart – shopping. However it’s not my heart strings that are being tugged, it’s my brain that’s being confounded. You see, one word rings over and over in my mind, and that word is Why?

It all began when I noticed big-time ground breaking on Route 6 right next to the entrance to Cortlandt Town Center last spring. Route 6 is our major shopping strip, and Cortlandt Town Center is our major shopping center. It’s not spectacular but  in addition to these establishments, it has what I need to get by.

DSCN2055

Months went by, and several buildings began to take shape –  boxy squat shapes. However there were no “coming soon” signs and since they were too small to be Trader Joe’s, the only establishment that would send me into ecstasy, I lost interest as summer brought me big and better things to look forward to.

When September rolled around, I decided to treat Mighty Mouse, my grey compact station wagon, to an oil change and maintenance service. After all, he’d been good to me all summer. The dealership is on Route 6 directly across from the mystery construction spot.

DSCN2056

 

As I settled into my seat in the waiting lounge, and accessed WiFi, I looked up and across the wide street and saw that the word was out. The mystery was over.

Revelation #1:

DSCN2053

But wait, isn’t this inside the shopping center:

DSCN1966

Revelation #2

DSCN2052

 

You mean this one inside isn’t enough?

DSCN2264

or this one either?

DSCN1965

 

And then there was revelation #3.

DSCN2051

Of course, just what the world needs, another Starbucks. Especially since tucked within  Barnes and Nobles is a nice cozy….

DSCN2058

Oh well, variety is the spice of life, I guess.

 

PS. I have since been informed that GNC and Vitamin Shoppe appeal to totally different markets: the body builders and jocks vs the health-conscious. Oh well, live and learn……. and shop!

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Why?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree that the two vitamin stores are quite different, each serving a different clientele. I like the Vitamin Shoppe, not being a body builder! Hope you enjoy your spacious new mall!

  2. It looks like “business is booming” in your neck of the woods 🙂 So, how’s the weather?

Leave a Reply

