Summer’s End?   2 comments

Just when I found a way of facing the facts of life, the coming winter life, that is, I find things have been turned topsy-turvy. You see, I’d found solace in the thought that Mother Nature would be taking a well-deserved rest after blessing me with such a beautiful summer along with an abundance of vegetables, and bouquets of flowers, potential  bouquets, that is, since I only picked  flowers on two occasions.The problem, although it’s not really a problem, is that my garden doesn’t want to stop so she can rest, and she doesn’t seem ready for even a short nap anyway.

The tomato plants are continuing to furnish me with daily portions

DSCN2098as well as promises of more to come

DSCN2097Yellow Squash, though tinier than in the dog days of summer. get a bit bigger every dayDSCN2093While even tinier zucchini hope they’ll be big enough to pick before the first frost gets hereDSCN2094I don’t think any eggplant will emerge from these lovely purple flowers

DSCN2091But maybe I’ll pick a pepper or two tomorrow

DSCN2099Even my container annuals, which in other years I discard in August because they’ve grown leggy and sparse, don’t  seem to know it’s October 15 and not August 15.DSCN2110DSCN2112But then I look at the deck from a different angle.

DSCN2105And I look up the road.

DSCN2106But still, with October temperatures like these……….

DSCN2114……the plants aren’t the only ones who are getting the most out of this summer that won’t quit. I’m still working in my summer office.

DSCN2107And as for The Mars, Marble, Marcel, & MarceauDSCN2115I don’t have the heart to tell them (or my outdoor green friends) the weatherman is warning of frost on Saturday night, and temps as low as 29 Sunday night.

Go Figure!

2 responses to “Summer’s End?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FYI, we have a delicious recipe for stuffed zucchini flowers – that’s right, the flowers (what grows on the end of the zucchini) is an Italian delicacy – and meatless!

  2. Wow, your garden plants look really good for October! Poor things won’t know what hit them when the temperatures plummet 😦 Sorry to hear that cold weather is on its way.
    As for us, we have a very large volunteer watermelon plant growing in the garden. It must think it can grow a melon in December. Ha! Our nighttime temps have only been in the 50’s, so far.
    PS I really like your summer office 🙂

Leave a Reply

