It’s a Dog. it’s a Bear, It’s Driveway Deer   3 comments

As is my wont, I was cozily ensconced in the recliner one morning a couple of weeks ago, sipping my coffee and watching the Today Show, when a movement straight ahead, through the window of the spare room, and up in the woods caught my eye. At first, judging my the heft of its hind quarters I though it was a bear, bears being in the news so often. But no, although it was a hefty figure, it was the wrong color so the second thought flashing through my mind was that it was the Golden Retriever down the road who, on a couple of occasions, has escaped his yard to explore my woods. Then I noticed the magnificent antlers, it was a young male deer. But it was gone before I could right the recliner and grab my camera from my bag in the dining room.

I forgot about it until that evening when I went into the driveway to get a 30 lb bag of cat litter out of my car.

There he was.

DSCN2046He continued.

DSCN2049

Then I realized he was getting closer to the decorative grasses I’ve been nurturing for five years, so I proceeded out to the cat littler. It had little effect on him, but at least he changed his direction.

DSCN2048

The next day, I took a look at the grasses, and decided they must not be his cup of tea.

DSCN2063DSCN2061DSCN2062

Friday evening I had just parked the car when I was discovered I was being observed from the driveway next door.

DSCN2083Maybe it wasn’t my grass he’s interested in. Maybe he’s looking for a set of wheels

Posted October 5, 2015 by virginiafair in Nature

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “It’s a Dog. it’s a Bear, It’s Driveway Deer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Did it ever occur to you that he might be interested in you?

    Susan Schefflein
  2. My first thought was the same as Susan’s 🙂 Hey, that’s one fine buck!
    We have a herd of deer living in the overgrown brush between our house and the highway. These deer frequently cross the road I walk on, when I’m able to walk. I have a fear of being stampeded by them on one of my walks! Wouldn’t that be a story to tell?!

  3. I LOVE!!! Great pictures; thank you for sharing. He feels safe enough to get that close.

Leave a Reply

