How Do I File a Complaint?   2 comments

Last week was hot – almost too hot for me. And that’s saying a lot.

DSCN1894

It was the first time in my sixteen years at The House of Mars that I had to run all three window fans at once, along with the ceiling fan in the kitchen. Normally I only use the fan in the bedroom , and only at night if I wake up and can’t get back to sleep. Most summers that only happens three, maybe four nights.

But hey! I’m not complaining. I love the heat. And I’m not one of those people who philosophizes about how it’s not the heat, it’s the humidity. I say BRING IT ON. Heat and humidity are what I dreamed about all last winter.

Speaking of winter, I do have something to complain about.

Hey V bite your tongueNobody’s talking about winter. That’s a bad word in July.

(Can you hear that? That’s my inner voice speaking. )

But actually a bad word in July is exactly what I’m complaining about. Many many summers ago, come the end of July, my mother would start with the comments –

“Before you know it, school will be opening.”

“We’ll have to go look for clothes for school.”

Well, there went my summer The clock was ticking.

“Look, the stores are already advertising  Back to School sales.”

Yep, the alarm was set.

Well, it’s happening. Last week while it was still mid-July and 97 degrees in the shade, what did I hear on TV but a Staples stock up for school ad. And yesterday a famous Footwear ad  about how this school year can be the best yet if you get cool shoes.

But actually now that I’ve gotten how I despise rushing the end of summer off my chest, that’s not what I’m complaining about.

This is

DSCN1874

Posted July 23, 2015 by virginiafair in Summer

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “How Do I File a Complaint?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree! Stop rushing us through life all of you advertising people! It’s going fast enough already!

    Susan Schefflein
  2. I totally agree with you! Our public school starts back August 3! That’s just ridiculous. We’re only six weeks or so into the actual summer season. I was in a store, on Thursday, and the shelves were being made ready for Halloween decorations, too. I say, “What’s the rush?”

    The heat/humidity is unbearable here. Even the outside pets (chickens included) are welcoming the fans I’ve been providing for them! Ed doesn’t mind the heat, and will stay outside all day, if he can. I, on the other hand, love my air conditioning, and only go out early mornings and evenings.

Leave a Reply

