Why Me? Our New Prayer   2 comments

In the course of my studies of one thing or another, I recall reading that early man invented the concept of gods to give a face to the forces of nature they feared and against which they had no defense. In the course of this recent abomination also know as winter,  I’ve come to the conclusion that the people of today – yours truly included, have turned this around. As each of the snowstorms lined up from here to Oshkoshimowobegonissippi descended upon us, we looked up to the heavens and moaned. “Why me? Why me?” And we took it as an affront each time the warm temperatures predicted and promised by the technologically dependent weather priests of TV somehow froze over with not a word of explanation or apology. “But you said,” we cried, as sub-zero wind chill numbers filled the screen “But you said.”

I personally have developed my own spring ritual. It’s called my parking lot prayer, and last time I checked it’s kept me sane – well, realtively sane. If you recall, last summer I reported how in the course of my Saturday errands I always make it a point to explore the classic car show assembled in front of the McDonald’s in the shopping center . Well, ever since this spring should have arrived, I glance over and picture the proud owners lounging in their beach chairs, the summer breeze warm and gentle replacing the biting wind blowing in my face, and as I get back into my car I whisper “This is one last Saturday to freeze through.”  But you know what? Each Saturday brings more snow – even last Saturday – Palm Sunday.

My last errand takes me to the supermarket and another parking lot. Last Saturday I was running a little late and it was dark as I emerged from the store. As I wheeled my groceries through the swirling snow,  my mind conjured up Christmas lights and Salvation Army kettles. But then a glance back at the store snapped me back to reality. On the other side of the sheer curtain of snow, potted tulips and daffodils huddled and shivered against the supermarket wall and I heard them cry in unison, “Why me, Why me?”

As for me? I raised my eyes toward the heavens and shook my head. “This is not right,” I declared, “It’s just not right.”

Posted April 2, 2015 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “Why Me? Our New Prayer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ginny, it’s very good, it’s a wonderful post! Thank you.

  2. Aw, such a sad thought, those poor flowers hovering against the wall of the supermarket while it snows… Now you’re really making me feel bad!

    Ed says you can always move to Georgia for the winters. We know of a lonely cat living all by herself at an empty residence 🙂

    Seriously, I hope spring finds your neck of the woods SOON! Happy Easter!

    P.S. Ed signed up for unemployment yesterday 🙂

Leave a Reply

