Wood You Believe Number 19?   7 comments

The following is a true story.

About ten days before Christmas I went to my mailbox and found a Christmas card addressed to Mrs. Ena Wiggan. Although it’s not unheard of for me to receive a neighbor’s mail, I didn’t recognize the name. Then I read the rest of the address

DSCN1828

I do live at 19 Wood……… but it’s not Woodhaven, and, as tempting as the West Indies may be with tomorrow’s forecast of single digit temps, I make my home in Putnam County NY, not Jamaica. To make it even more mind-boggling, this misplaced Christmas card had originated in Florida!

Is there anyone out there who can tell me how a letter could travel 1,000+ miles in the wrong direction to the wrong country, based solely on the number 19, and a road that begins with the word Wood?

Two different people told me it means I should take a trip to Jamaica, but I did the next best thing, I put the whole thing in a new envelope and mailed it to Mrs. Ena Wiggan and her family.

So far so good, it hasn’t come back!

7 responses to “Wood You Believe Number 19?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you.

    Remember the Beatles song Number 9 Number 9 Number 9 Number 9?

    Here is how you happened to get that card: Workers have become more incompetent, procedures have become more mind-numbingly complex, and jobs have become more time-pressured. We are all in trouble (especially regarding any dependence on the medical industry).

  2. Considering your love for Jamaica, this is a true sign that you are to travel there yourself. A mystery and full of possibility.

    Susan Schefflein
  3. Delivery of that card to you may have been one of the biggest blunders of the USPS ever! Kind of makes me hate to mail anything else!
    P.S. I loved and appreciated your comment concerning camping. According to the comments I received, there aren’t very many ‘happy campers’ left out there in blog land šŸ™‚

  4. Are you sure it’s not yours? After all, you do live about 50 miles from Jamaica, Jamaica Queens in New York City that is . Obviously the sender should have written out “West Indies”, not just the initials, as the postal worker, or more likely the sorting computer, just ignored them. But how it got confused between Jamaica and Putnam is beyond me.

    It’s not just an issue of learning world geography. Have to say moving 1 mile, still within the same post office, and having half my mail either missing or delayed more than 2 weeks doesn’t inspire confidence in today’s post office. Nor is it a recent phenomenon – I was warned years ago that mail to Austria should read “Austria, Europe” to avoid detours to Australia.

  5. The US Snail strikes again! Did you include a note to the Wiggans about their well-traveled card?

  6. Pingback: A Warm Surprise on A Frozen Day | From the House of Mars

Leave a Reply

