The Mayor of Bruner Avenue   4 comments

Some dads watch football on Sundays, my dad swept the driveway and sidewalk outside our Bronx rowhouse.   In the summer, it was a challenging job because in addition to the regular city soot and debris,  my mother’s beloved mimosa tree, which due to its size should never have been planted there, insisted on shedding  its feathery petals and tendrils anywhere it pleased.

DSCN1800

In the fall, he exchanged his broom for a rake and raked the pesky feathery leaves of said mimosa tree in addition to the mighty oak trees across the street

Daddy was usually out there for hours at a time, doing a job that would have taken anyone else twenty minutes at most. Why? Nine times out of ten, one of us would look out the window and he’d be at the fence talking to someone. Look out twenty minutes later and he’d be out on the sidewalk talking to someone else.

A decade and a half passed, in which time I moved to California and back. Daddy lived to  be 94, but fell victim to Parkinson’s Disease for the last decade of his life. Since I was responsible for his care, I was running back and forth to the house on Bruner Avenue daily. I cannot count the times I was stopped as I entered or left by someone who asked “How’s Doctor Fair feeling?” I had no idea who these well wishers were, but they knew Daddy. For this reason, we lovingly call Daddy the Mayor of Bruner Avenue.

What brings this to mind is my own love(?) affair with my driveway. Come  fall and I am out weekly too –  but for good reason. Living in a quarter-acre of forest makes raking  akin to shoveling snow in the midst of a blizzard (been there – done that)

DSCN1788

 

Since my property, with all its stone walls and fences does not lend itself to leaf-blowing, I haul the leaves up into the woods and construct cute little walls of leaves.

DSCN1789

Daddy would be proud of me.

Or would he?…..

DSCN1806

 

 

Sorry Daddy, the remaining quarter acre of The House of Mars has priority over the road So if you want me, I’ll be with my good buddies…

DSCN1790

and we’ll be here….

DSCN1801

or here…

DSCN1802

 

or maybe  here….

DSCN1803

If we’re not there, we might be here…

DSCN1804

Uh, oh don’t look now but the driveway needs a tune-up

DSCN1807

 

Maybe someone will come  by and talk to me.

Posted November 23, 2014 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

4 responses to “The Mayor of Bruner Avenue

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very dear post, Ginny!

  2. Give me anything but the dreaded sound of leaf blowers. Who invented those things? Let’s go with raking any day.

  3. Love this, Virginia, such a sweet tribute to your Dad.

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!! From: From the House of Mars To: lilogrammy@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, November 23, 2014 9:19 PM Subject: [New post] The Mayor of Bruner Avenue #yiv5953392719 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5953392719 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5953392719 a.yiv5953392719primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5953392719 a.yiv5953392719primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5953392719 a.yiv5953392719primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5953392719 a.yiv5953392719primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5953392719 WordPress.com | virginiafair posted: “Some dads watch football on Sundays, my dad swept the driveway and sidewalk outside our Bronx rowhouse.   In the summer, it was a challenging job because in addition to the regular city soot and debris,  my mother’s beloved mimosa tree, which due to its s” | |

  4. Virginia, you had my complete attention at the first mention of the Mimosa tree! What a tree it was, too!!! I do love a Mimosa tree, but Ed does not. We had once had one, but it eventually died. All of the subsequent little volunteer Mimosas died mysteriously, too… Can’t help but wonder if they had a little help from my hubby!

    I guess you get plenty of fresh air and exercise in the fall, raking all of those leaves! Yes, indeed, I think “The Mayor of Bruner Avenue” would be proud of his daughter 🙂

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

