Facing the Dreaded End   3 comments

But the ending always comes at last.

Endings always come too fast

They come too fast, but they pass too slow.

I love you and that’s all I know.

If you’re an Art Garfunkel fan you’ll know that verse from All I Know, written by Jimmy Web. It was an ode to a failed romance. I admit, when it was current, I was in just such a situation and found it comforting to sing along at the top of my lungs anytime it played on the radio. But today, with Eastern Standard Time back in position, November upon us, and alas! temps in the 30’s I’m singing it to last summer.

But before I let it  go, thanks are in order to a few hearty and loyal friends who have stood by through thick and thin and to this day, refuse to desert me.

DSCN1755DSCN1758DSCN1759DSCN1756DSCN1767

And these guys are super-loyal. They’ll be out there every day of the long winter, just as they were on the hottest driest days of summer.

DSCN1771

So will they

DSCN1772

This summer was unique in that it was the first year I grew tomatoes.  Here are the last three; the last three definites, that it

DSCN1778

And the maybesDSCN1762

Anyone have a recipe for fried green tomatoes?

DSCN1764

 

Posted November 3, 2014 by virginiafair in gardening

Tagged with , ,

3 responses to “Facing the Dreaded End

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Speaking of tomatoes, Jenny, next year try Cherokee Purple, if you can find them. Chuck

  2. When I saw the title of your post, I was afraid one of your feline companions had passed away! I was relieved to discover you were only bidding goodbye to summer 🙂 Your beginner’s luck, with tomatoes, is impressive. They have proved to be one of the most difficult veggies for us to grow. Something about disease and our soil… Enjoy those last summer tomatoes, the winter ones at the store taste like cardboard 😦 Don’t even get me started on Daylight Savings Time and freezing weather…

  3. For fried green toms…I think you dip in beaten egg(s) then dredge in seasoned corn meal (s&p + any other spice &/or finely minced herb to your liking) & fry – quickly so they don’t absorb the oil – in a cast iron skillet. Like I said, I “think” this is how it’s done, but I’m conjuring South Carolina memories from waaaaaay back.

Leave a Reply

