Signs of the Times   3 comments

I am an inveterate reader – put it in front of me, and I read it. The only thing I don’t read is my smartphone – mainly because I don’t have one. Because of this,  I’m free to read signs – neon signs, metal signs, wood,  plastic and paper – in windows, on walls, up on billboards, on the sides of buses and the walls of subway cars. In fact the subway is where reading all came together for me.

From infancy until I started kindergarten at age 4-1/2,  I spent two torturous two hours riding the subway from Manhattan to Brooklyn ( and two hours back) each Friday to visit my grandmother in Brooklyn. Subways have changed a lot over the years but, back then, as today, passengers avoiding eye contact are prisoners of the ads staring down at them. I still remember the light of recognition flashing at me when I noticed that the letters, c o f f e e on the ad looked just like the c o f f e e on the can in our kitchen. I don’t recall what I said but my mother said it brought smiles to all the fellow N’Yawkers on the train. (I also knew  the word BAR since there was one on every corner in our neighborhood.)

Well, I don’t ride the subway quite as much but I still read signs,  always, all the time, and some of them merit a second look. Speaking of coffee, let’s start with this one.

DSCN1725

Do you remember when coffee was  the flavor?

And how about this in the front of Office Depot.

  DSCN1726

Empty cardboard boxes – -$1.00 ( the ones from which they’ve already sold the paper?) .

And now for an internet moment……

 DSCN1279

 Note it’s a page with yoga-related links

What I’m puzzled by,  is the box of related links. Hold on, let me enlarge it

DSCN1281

Coffin for sale? Just think –  all these years I’ve been thinking yoga was good for me.

So you see – friends who chuckle and think I’m referring to writing when I say words are my life don’t know the half of it!

Posted October 28, 2014 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 responses to “Signs of the Times

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Virginia, You are too funny! i can’t believe how you make me chuckle every time. And thanks for letting us know the first word you remember that taught you the concept of reading of reading? ‘Coffee’

  2. Virginia, you have such a way with words, I always look forward to your posts:)
    I’m afraid if I tried doing yoga, I’d need that ‘coffin for sale’ ad! LOL

  3. I like language

    I LOVE ALLITERATION

    Bob

Leave a Reply

