The House of Mars Gets a Trim   2 comments

When I arrived home from work last Wednesday,  this was my first clue  that it had been an exciting day at The House of Mars :

DSCN1731

My second:

 DSCN1732

 

Seeing the truck wasn’t a surprise.

Seeing how close it was less than a yard from the house was!

 

I’d arranged (sort of) to have two trees cut down. One was growing very close to the house, and its branches were dangling perilously over the power and cable lines. I do hate to end any life but since nearly half the  lower branches were dead  I rationalized I was putting it out of its misery. Plus, it had misbehaved in a storm a few years back – dropping a limb, the size of a small tree across the walk.

138

 

I asked around the neighborhood if anyone knew of a good tree surgeon, and heard the same answer time after time. “Lussier, he’s the best there is.”

I know it’s the rule of the wise homeowner to seek out three companies and get quotes from all, but it seemed the man could do no wrong. And so finally, after putting it off for over five years, I made the call  on a Monday morning.  Everyone had warned me Lussier could be slow to respond so I was not surprised when I had to leave a message for him. No problem, I thought,  I’m not on a hurry. Procrastination suits me well, but drat! I found a message on my phone Saturday –  he could come by on Sunday morning to take a look! Sigh

Long story short – He gave me a great price on the two trees and said he would  clear out several pesky ones that had sprung up on the slope down to the road and seemed to be losing their sense of vertical.

That was it!He gave me a great price and said I’d come home one say that week and find my trees gone.

True, to his reputation, a week passed and the trees were still there. Then, the following Wednesday,  he came, he saw,  he conquered.

DSCN1727

DSCN1729

DSCN1728There was more but one of my neighbors with a wood stove had already begun work  clearing the yard.

The puzzling part  was that there was not a soul around – just the trucks . It was a bit ghostly. The neighbor who’d sung his praises the loudest  surmised  he was on another job. Without his truck? I  thought, but said nothing. Instead I called Lussier and of course, left a message.

“Come back for your money.” I also assumed he wanted his trucks!

I got back no message but the next morning at 8, there he was climbing out of a pickup truck and coming up my driveway – coffee cup in hand.

Yes, he’d got my message but it was late to call back. He’d been out “riding dirt bikes with  the  boys.” He’d said he’s be back that evening for his money but right now he “had to drive to work.” And sure enough, faster than I back my car down the driveway, he and his truck were gone

 

PS – Seven days and counting – the money is still waiting on my dining room table.

Posted October 7, 2014 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 responses to “The House of Mars Gets a Trim

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Unbelievable! Has he picked up his $$$ yet? Did he do a good job?

  2. Wow, this guy must not need his money very much!
    Your tree trimming adventure brings back so many memories of last summer… 43 pine trees taken down in their prime, one Dish Network cable cut in half, Ed’s pitch fork mangled and broken, not to mention all of the rain 😦 Glad you were spared all of that!

Leave a Reply

