Housewarming Deja Vu   2 comments

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO RECEIVE MY BLOG IN EMAIL, I APOLOGIZE FOR SENDING A ROUGH DRAFT YESTERDAY – MY BAD. HERE’S  THE REAL THING

Summer has come and gone but it’s left a treasure trove of memories. Remember the MacDonald’s parking lot I showed you where they hold a weekly classic cars show?

DSCN1541

 

Well, it’s just a McDonald’s parking lot again.

 

DSCN1681

 

And now, my deck is quiet except for the chairs who vie for my attention, each Saturday and Sunday morning, whispering, “sit here sit here ” as I set down my coffee and paper.

DSCN1682

You may see an empty deck but if I linger long enough I see the gossamer memories of friends and loved ones sitting, talking, and enjoying each other’s company at my barbecues.

Yes, barbecues, as in four. You see, The House of Mars, being what it is, strains at the seams if I have more than eight people for a sit-down dinner. So rather than repeat the weeks of stress I went through the summer I had  gala BBQ of twenty people, the daily visits to weather.com for long term forecasts, all the obsessing over what I’d do if it rained, I broke it up into several small gatherings that can fit around the dining room table of Mother Nature wants it that way. Yes, it can be hectic for a lone hostess but it’s worth it.

perfect hostess

This all reminds me of the meaning of a housewarming party. When I was in the process of getting divorced I dreaded the prospect of moving into the apartment I’d found.  Although I loved the apartment, and looked forward to starting a new life, the idea of entering an empty space where not even the heartbeat of a cat would be there to warm it was a chilling thought. But then I had  a dinner party,  and friends began dropping in, and before  I knew it, the apartment felt as comfy as a robe and bedroom slippers.

So now, while I do not look forward to a long cold winter, at least I won’t be quite so cold as I shovel the snow off the deck. I’ll be warmed by the memories of fifteen years of BBQs and all those who made them possible – human, feline, and canine.

207

Posted September 16, 2014 by virginiafair in memories

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “Housewarming Deja Vu

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved this post! Glad I can see ‘the real thing’ now 🙂

  2. Hi Lady,

    Still having fond memories of our bbq & here it is time for next book club. Are we doing our usual 1:15, meet-in-Croton on Saturday? If so, where?

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

