Live and Let Live   2 comments

I love everything about summer but number two on my list, after going to the beach, is taking care of my garden. Like any mother I feed my plant babies and shop for them –  delicious foods  like fish emulsion and blood meal. I usually purchase these from Home Depot, but was in a hurry one Saturday and since I was already in Wal-Mart, decided to see if their garden department had what I needed.

Not only did they not have either,  but I was somewhat dismayed to find that the  products that supply plant nutrients were outnumbered by those that promised death –  to insects, weeds, moss – you name it

The Good

The Good

The Bad

The Bad

and the ugly!

and the Ugly!

I don’t know why but it troubled me on a deep fundamental level.  I actually feel sorry for the weeds I pull. Now I was on a quandary,  weighing  the end against the means.  Some people spray, I pull. It’s all the same to the weeds. Thankfully someone pointed out that I was protecting my flowers and vegetable plants because it’s a dog eat dog world, with everything sending down roots and competing for water.

As it turned out I could have left the weeds alone…….  because the deer got there first. I went out to water one morning and suffered instant numbing devastation. I kid you not. I was late getting to work because it took me a while to break out of shock. Was my live and let live attitude being tested?

Remember my tomato  plants and cucumber vines?

Back in July

Back in July

They don’t look like that anymore

In mid-August

In mid-August

The tomatoes fared a bit better,

DSCN1661

But they’re soldiering on. Wounded, but still nurturing their tomatoes.

DSCN1663

And so are the cucumbers,  bless their little hearts!

See the cuke (pickle) to the right of the stake.

See the cuke (pickle) to the right of the stake.

 

This called for action, but not too much. The most destructive I could get was repelling them with the noxious odor of musty rotten eggs.

DSCN1665

So far it’s worked. But the sixty-four thousand dollar question is……. Are they just waiting for the tomatoes to ripen?

Posted August 27, 2014 by virginiafair in gardening, Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “Live and Let Live

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. as a gardener why do hungry deer surprise you? I know one gardener who got so frustrated with deer eating his hard work that he decided to get a baseball bat for the next time he saw them. Fortunately for the deer he was not Yankees material

  2. I’m SO sorry! When I saw what the deer did to your garden I actually said “Oh, No!” out loud, because your scenario is my recurring nightmare. I always have a fear of walking out to the garden, only to find a few naked vines or stems! I’m sure my nightmare will eventually come true, since there are deer all around us. It’s only a matter of time… I do hope your deer doesn’t come back later for a ripe tomato–or the little baby cuke 🙂

    As for weeds, I have no sympathy for them! I believe they’d take over the entire planet if we let ’em. We chop ’em, pull ’em, and spray ’em, but still can’t get the pesky things under control. Pesky insects don’t rank very high on my list either 😦

Leave a Reply

