A Summer Ritual: The Car Show   1 comment

I don’t k now about you but I can’t think of anything that transports me back to my teen summers quicker than old-time rock and roll. Throw in a lot full of classic 50’s cars,  ’60’s era muscle cars, a 70’s coupe or two and I’m  back there before you can say bell bottoms!

That’s why I make it one of my summer rituals to wander through the McDonald’s parking lot at Cortlandt Town Centre when the classic car lover faithful gather on Saturday evenings every summer to set up chairs no one ever sits on, and  show off their babies.

DSCN1546

 

Since the shopping center is  home to Home Depot, A&P, Marshalls, Wal-Mart, Barnes & Noble, a ten theater movieplex, and three  – oh glory,yes three – shoe outlets including my all-time favorite , DSW, chances are I’m there on Saturdays although I only visit t he car show once a summer – when the music speaks to me.

You can hear it from near and far, Some times it’s The Rolling Stones, getting no satisfaction, other times it’s The Monkees, enjoying a Pleasant Valley Sunday, or Smokey Robinson and the Miracles Going to a go-go, or of course, The Beach Boys getting around, or Jan and Dean serenading  their Little GTO (just googled that  and found it’s not Jan & Dean but Ronnie & the Daytonas whom I never heard of –  guess that shows it wasn’t one of my favorites!)

On this particular evening it was Diana Ross and The Supremes pleading Stop in the Name of Love. It had the opposite effect in me. I went – in search of a memory or two

And I found them.

DSCN1547My best friend in eighth grade, Gail Wilson’s father’s car a ’60 Buick (’59?)

DSCN1544My fifth grade teacher, Miss Brook’s ’56 Chevrolet (gray and white)

.DSCN1541The ’66 Dodge (1st car on the left) my Dad trusted me with to ferry my mother and brother back and forth to the beach all summer in  Cape Cod while he stayed in NY to work. Obviously we weren’t a two car family – yet

DSCN1545My brother Jim’s ’73 Dodge when we had become a three car family. It’s the brown car right next to the McDonald’s entrance which is quite appropriate as Jim kept McDonald’s in business!

DSCN1543The ’70’s era Dodge Dart my father bought when we were a four car family and there was no danger of my brothers or I driving his car. Except he didn’t race it so the engine didn’t have all that “stuff”

As Archie & Edith Bunker used to sing, “Those were the Days.”  Cars had their own distinctive look and you didn’t have to look for the name on the front to know what it was. Do you think that 40 years from now, today’s youth will be gathering to show off their Mazdas & Mitsubishis?

I won’t be around to find out, but you know what? I hope they will.

One response to “A Summer Ritual: The Car Show

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yet another thing we have in common! I love old cars and old music, too 🙂 Loved the post!

    I can’t tell one car from another, these days, but I love (and can identify) many of the makes/models of older cars.

    As for the music of that era, it was great, wasn’t it?! I’ve spent this summer listening to much of the music you mentioned in your post, thanks to satellite radio 🙂 Hearing those songs takes me right back– to riding with Ed in his 1961 pink Mercury–yes, PINK!…the one he had to sometimes beat with a stick…the one we once ran out of gas in, because the gauge no longer worked… Fun times 🙂

    PS I sure wish I had some of your cooler temps, right about now! Our temps are supposed to be in the 100’s the rest of this week! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

