Perception vs Reality   2 comments

Recently I’ve come up against conflicting opinions  regarding the relationship between reality and perception. The funny thing is up until a few months ago, I’d never ever stopped to consider the possibilities, but then a coworker commented that 97% of reality is perception. It intrigued me and I thought a bit about it – but not that much!

Then this past Saturday I stopped for some take-out food and as the owner went back to the kitchen to bag my order I noticed a piece of paper put up next to the swinging door, proclaiming that perception is not  reality. I wanted to ask him what it meant but by the time he came back, I had forgotten. Oh, well.

This all fit in with a blog idea I’ve been tossing about for a while, even taking notes for, but never managing to get around to putting it into words. This is kind of funny because it’s all about words, and  mis-perceptions that have brought a smile to my face when I realize I’ve read something too fast, or listened with half an  ear and a quarter of a brain.

While listening to a food show on PBS, I heard

  • “Use a nice dirty baking potato.”
  • Everyone else heard ” a nice sturdy baking potato.”

 

On another PBS show, this one on travel, I heard the host  lament

  • the hunting of “an endangered wino”.
  • Everyone else heard “endangered rhino.”

 

I guess I watch a lot of PBS shows. This time it was a gardening show. I heard

  • “Let the seeds urinate.
  • Everyone else was  told to “Let the seeds germinate.

 

On a health and beauty segment of the news about weight loss. I heard

  • surgery is often necessary to tighten up blue skin
  • Other listeners hear it was  loose skin that needed tightening up

 

And last but not least, on a health and beauty show, I was reminded how important it was to my health

  • to get lots of wedgies
  • A whole different reality than getting lots of veggies.

If you think I don’t listen well, wait until I tell you what I’ve read. But that will have to wait for another time, another place. For now, so long, it’s been real!

Posted April 8, 2014 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Perception vs Reality

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This one cracked me up.

  2. Oh my goodness! This was funny 🙂 “Half an ear and a quarter of a brain”, that pretty much sums us up, these days, doesn’t it? LOL

Leave a Reply

