Be Careful What You Wish For   2 comments

Friday February 7 marked a year since Marcos left the House of Mars for the last time. I can’t say the time flew because his passing really changed the  atmosphere and energy of the house. Speaking of energy, February 5 marked 5 months since Marble took up residence. Only 5 months? It seem like a lifetime and I’m not sure how I mean that.

Although Marcos was an extremely mellow dog, he had his moments when I first rescued him. There was his talent for honing in and snatching up anything on the street with a shelf life of 10 years or less. We had some battles royal as I’d try to wrestle unrecognizable specimens of food from his jaws of steel. I’m amazed no one ever reported me to animal control for abusing a dog. His best stunt was the time he managed to grab an extra-large slice of pizza from a box lying along  the road and swallow it seemingly whole.

I don’t know how many times I commented “you must have been into everything when you were a pup. I wish I knew you then.”

Into everything!That  brings me back to Marble. Looking back, I realize there were signs. When I called the rescue group back in September to inquire about him, I was told he was a “character.” And then, when he had exploratory surgery for an intestinal ailment that was never diagnosed, the vet could not stop marveling about how “bright” he was. Put bright and character together and you get the demon of The House of Mars.

I could go into a gazillion anecdotes but don’t they say a picture is worth a thousand words?

DSCN0991He was uncharacteristically accepting of this post-operative collar he had to wear. Maybe he  knew the surgery cost as much as my second car!

But let’s get to the healthy bright character:

DSCN0891DSCN0920DSCN0972DSCN1236DSCN1095DSCN1224DSCN1092DSCN1090DSCN1089DSCN1234

Let’s see, I wished I’d known what a mischievous pup Marcos had been.

Marcos died February 7

072

Marble was born March 5.

DSCN1252

Just saying……….

Be careful what you wish for!

Posted February 10, 2014 by virginiafair in Cats, Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “Be Careful What You Wish For

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my goodness! You have a never-ending supply of entertainment at your house 🙂 I smiled and laughed all the way through each one of Marble’s photos! I especially loved the one of him on the range hood. LOL

  2. Adorable kitty. My last three dogs were already young adults when I adopted them. But our last cats were teeny tiny kittens when we brought them home. All the animals have been sources of great amusement in our lives – not to mention love, companionship & windows into a whole other world.

Leave a Reply

