An Attitude of Gratitude   3 comments

An attitude of gratitude, that’s the philosophy I find myself embracing lately. A prime example is when I turned on the TV a week ago Sunday and saw the  news accounts of the tragic train accident on the  Metro North Railroad . Since the Hudson Line is the line I take in to the city, I identified viscerally. Thinking of the four people killed I found the same haunting thoughts echoing through my mind as had when I’d heard about the workers in the Twin Towers or the students and teachers  at Sandy Hook. They left home, thinking it was going to be a day like any other…….but they never came back.

I come back again and again, and I don’ t take it for granted.

My thoughts were with those people this weekend. I was attending a party in Manhattan Friday night, and going back again Sunday morning to  meet my friend, CM for our annual museum visit and lunch. Readers of this blog know that normally I’d be kicking  up my heels in joy to be traveling to the city twice in one weekend. And I was, although perhaps my kick was a little lower. I wasn’t afraid of traveling that stretch of track so soon after operations resumed. I was just respectful.

And while I waited for the train I took in the beauty of the Hudson. Yes, even in winter:

DSCN1056OK I cheated and waited in the warmth of the overhead waiting area.

DSCN1057I enjoyed the southern view

DSCN1055I enjoyed the beauty of the old station

DSCN1054I noticed the flag was flying at half staff for Nelson Mandela

DSCN1059I almost missed the train!

DSCN1064From the train, I appreciated  the soon to be replaced Tappan Zee Bridge, and was grateful for all the times I’ve driven across it safely – especially that time in 1969 when the wind blew my VW into the next lane.

DSCN1080I appreciated that I arrived safely at The Metropolitan Museum of Art

DSCN1081And that once again got a chance to see the treeDSCN1083And the precious 18th century figurines beneath it.

And most of all…..

DSCN1086I was grateful to arrive back at the Peekskill Train Station safe and sound.

THANK YOU!

 

3 responses to “An Attitude of Gratitude

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CM was grateful too, for a wonderful day with my friend and getting home safely on the Hudson line, even though I was met with snow when I arrived. Life is good!!

    Catherine M. Gaughan
  2. Virginia,
    You always know how to bring us back to the holiness of life and of every day. Thanks for making me think and appreciate.

  3. One thing’s for sure, all of our lives can change in the twinkling of an eye. I’m grateful for each and every day, even the bad ones!

Leave a Reply

