Life Goes On: Part 2   3 comments

Do you remember how Marcos took over my former guest room?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Although I miss him dearly, I had every intention of restoring it to visitor status. But I guess I didn’t work  fast enough. Marcos room has a new tenant.  Meet Marbles, the House of Mars’ newest Mar.

DSCN0860

 

How did this come about? I wish I knew.  On Thursday, August 22, I stopped at Petsmart to get cat food. This, in itself was out of the ordinary since I always run this errand on Saturdays. But I had something else planned for Saturday, so there I was.

Little Orphan Animals, a  local rescue group, had set up cages of kittens outside the entrance. I took a quick peek, again, not my usual habit; I usually put blinders on when passing rescued cats. No problem, though, They were all very young, and at my age, I  didn’t want a kitten. I continued on into the store where I detoured to  venture  into the adoption room; again, something I avoid like the plague. I guess I got over-confident, because there I saw the most exquisitely colored white and black kitten.

Kitten, I pointed out to myself. But isn’t rationalization a wondrous thing? I managed to convince myself that he  wasn’t a young kitten since the sign said he was five months old.

The problem is, his mom and brother were there  too. How could I break up a family? I’d have to take all three. Luckily sanity interrupted my thought process

“Ahem, do you realize that would mean you’d have five cats? And how big is your house.”

“Um, 700 square feet, give or take,”

I decided to think it over, and entrust them to fate. After all, I wouldn’t need cat food until the Saturday of the following week. Anything could happen in that time.  Maybe they’d all be adopted.

And so I returned on Saturday, August 31.  Only one cat remained – the beauty! I quickly jotted down the phone of Susan, who was sponsoring him, and …….the rest is history.

Thursday, September 5

After checking with my veterinarian that I would be a trustworthy cat guardian, Susan delivered BW, whom I promptly renamed. I consigned him to Marcos’s room where he’d be gradually introduced to the Brothers Mar, via  sniffs and paws groping under the door.  He vanished under the bed, not to be seen again for twenty-four hours. I left food, water, and clean litter and checked periodically. Nada, zilch, zero

Friday

No Marble sighting in the morning.  But when i returned in the evening he’d decided maybe he’d like a look around.

DSCN0846

DSCN0847

 

See why I named him Marble? from every angle, he’s just a swirl of black and white.

 

Saturday Morning ,

He still hadn’t eaten, but he seemed comfortable with his new digs

DSCN0837

Saturday Evening

Uh oh, time for an introduction to the brothers, but Marble wasn’t so sure.

DSCN0858

And the brothers, for their part, huddled in the dining room, trying to make some sense of this little newcomer, probably saying “Thank goodness she didn’t bring home a dog like last time.”

019

 

Sunday Morning

 

Marble was raring to go,

DSCN0848

but the Brothers split up and fled to higher ground

Marceau

DSCN0852

 

Marcel

DSCN0857

Sunday evening

Marble’s appetite returned to life.

DSCN0863

 

Notice who finished first!

DSCN0865

Monday Morning 

The Brothers are trying a new tactic:  Good Cop Bad Cop, Marcel hissed at him in the morning.  Marble  paid him no mind. Marceau took over the role in the evening.  Again – no reaction.

Oh, those two, they’re such a pair of old fuddy -duddy bachelors, stuck in their ways. Tell me, could you hiss at this face?

DSCN0830

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Life Goes On: Part 2

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s a sweetie. have fun! Judy

  2. OMGthought you were getting another cat!! Marbles is adorable!!! Congrats on your new addition to the “House of Mars”!! Tell me all about him on Sunday.

    Catherine M. Gaughan
  3. Oh, Virginia! You are a girl after my own heart 🙂 Marbles is a real cutie, and reminds me of my “Hootie”, which I no longer have. I love how you documented Marbles progress, day by day! Things appear to be going pretty well. By the way, how in the world does Marcel get on top of your cabinets???

Leave a Reply

