A Tree Makes A Deal   3 comments

I’m back to anthropomorphizing nature. And that’s not a good thing. Humans are humans and nature is nature. I leave it up to you as to the state of my sanity. But some  things do make  you stop and wonder.  Previously I considered whether  there was such a thing as suicide in nature. Today I tackle fear. Can  tree fear  for his life, and can he bargain with me

It all began when I drove up the  road on my way home from work and noticed a huge biggie of a branch had fallen on the slope bordering my property. The good news – he showed consideration since his fall was  nowhere near the house and additional points in his favor – the fallen limb was not blocking the road,  so it called for no action on my part.

DSCN0745

But what led me to my mental meandering is the  timing. You see,  my neighbor had contracted with  a tree cutting service  – a substantial one.  Most tree-cutting in the neighborhood take 2, maybe 3 hours. But I knew from day 1 this would be serious because  the company left  its truck in said neighborhoods driveway over night. Ditto for day 2.

The result:

DSCN0748

No, that doesn’t really show you what occurred. This is more accurate.

DSCN0750

And this:

DSCN0746

So you see, what I,m thinking is that one of my trees, by dropping that dead branch, was panicking and sending me  a message. I will shed my excess baggage in a non-threatening manner if you promise to let me be.  Which tree? I think it was him.

Why?

DSCN0786

 Is this a giveaway?

DSCN0787

Although it does give me a bit of worry each time we have a  heavy snow storm or wind storm, or Lordy Ms Claudie, a hurricane , I’d never ever think of it. After all,  How long do you think he’s existed?

But I will let you in on a secret. There is one tree whose time may be limited. As I used to say when I was a wee one and had no choice but to obey the parental units. “I don’t wanna but I will. ” If you promise not to tell him, I’ll give you a peek . After all, his fate has not yet been decided. Why would I want to end his life? Well #1. He is alarmingly close to the house.But he’s a strong one. When I moved into the House of Mars 14 years ago, he wasn’t as tall as the house. So the sky’s the limit. Ha-ha The sky’s the limit. No pun was intended!

DSCN0743

Three years ago, during early  spring , The snow was very wet, thus very heavy. He shed a 12 ft  limb right next to the house, not on the  house so I choose to see it as his care and consideration. So he still stands.

139

But there are some arguments against  him.  He has strange feathery leaves, and he chooses to shed them early; which is  right around now.

So I have to start Fall leaf patrol now because these whenever it rains suckers stick to my flip-flops but mysteriously lose their adhesiveness as soon as I go in side and end up plastered to  the white tiles in the dining room and kitchen necessitating clean up number two!

DSCN0784

Also not in his favor – the  sidewalk he’s starting to bench press. I don’t want any visitors tripping.

DSCN0785

What do you think ? For him?  Or against him?

Meanwhile If you ever come to the  House of Mars, watch your step on the walk.

Posted August 12, 2013 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “A Tree Makes A Deal

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Virginia, You always find a meaningful topic. I am just plain crazy about trees (and ferns) and I love your tree friends and vote for him. OK? Don’t let anything happen to one beautiful leaf or branch.

  2. Virginia, as you know, trees are a subject that’s recently been near and dear to my heart! I love trees, and it breaks my heart to have to cut even one down (much less 47 of them, like we recently did), but that tree is awful close to your house… I say the old guy’s days are numbered, we’ve all gotta’ go sometime, don’t we–but don’t tell your tree that I said that!

Leave a Reply

