Hot Time, Summer in the City   5 comments

“Hot Time Summer in the City”

If you’re of  a certain age you’ll recognize that song by The Lovin’ Spoonful. Even if you’re too young to remember, (and as time goes on, I’m finding that when I say that, most people  – sigh – are too young). Now what was I saying oh yes, that you’ll recognize that band name as vintage Sixties!

Well I was in Manhattan on Saturday and, yes ma’am it was  hot time in the city. I hadn’t planned to cover it in the blog, but while walking through Washington Square Park, I couldn’t help but compare it to when I last passed through back in March  – when it was warm time, Spring in the city. If you missed that post, “Spring in My Step”, you  might want  to check it out  so you can see what I’m talking about. That would be… Spring in My Steps

Back then,  the fountain in Washington Square had been empty and bone-dry. But Saturday it was 83 degrees and ,

DSCN0692

who says we, New Yorkers don’t  take cool where we  find it?

DSCN0696

And if you can’t go to The Hampton or “Down The Jersey Shore”?

 

I wasn’t the only one passing through…..

DSCN0697

The tourists were out in full force.

 

I always check out the doggie playground. In the spring, I’d stood there, getting a kick out of their interactions. It always reminds me of my kindergarteners. There are the bullies, the shy ones, the ones  that grab all the toys and run. But for some reason the doggie park was shut down.

But the dogs were out. Look at this poor guy.

DSCN0698

Didn’t anybody tell him to leave his winter coat home?

 

This guy, on the other hand is not only dressed for summer,

DSCN0703

he’s staying hydrated too!

 

On my way to Grand Central I walked through another park.

DSCN0729

 

And I’m glad I did, their doggie playground was open,

DSCN0722

but not exactly crowded.

DSCN0719

These guys were taking a water break

 

And remember what I said about some dogs being big bullies? Well, here at Madison Square Park, they’ve leveled the playing field.

DSCN0724

The little dogs can be bullied by one of their own!

 

And before I leave you, check out Ms Liberty!

DSCN0709

Lookin’  good, Girlfriend!

5 responses to “Hot Time, Summer in the City

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was in Cincinnati the summer that song “Hot Time” hit the charts. Every day, with the sun baking the sidewalks, the radio blared, “Hot time, summer in the city”. I really wish I had tried frying an egg on the street. I’ve heard, as hot as it can get, you still can’t fry an egg on the sidewalk.

  2. I remember the song “Summer in the City”. I think I was about 12 the summer it was so popular, and I loved the song! I still do. As always, I enjoyed the observations you made while walking 🙂

  3. next time I recommend the doggie park in Tompkins Square Park in the East Village – lots to watch!

Leave a Reply

