Life Goes On   5 comments

I finally saw Marcos’ headstone and I must say my reaction surprised me. He is the fifth pet I’ve buried at the Hartsdale Pet Cemetery, sixth if I count my brother’s dog, Duke. I found his grave immediately thanks to the pinwheel I’d left at the unmarked grave at Easter. Shiny and new, I could read the engraved words before I climbed the hill.

DSCN0594

And I broke down and cried – real tears crying. I never cried at the cemetery with any of my other pets. Not even Fremont. Seeing Fremont carved in stone did stop me in my tracks, and have me uttering his name,  but not like this. I couldn’t even smile at the Handsome Hunk of Dog bit. Anyone who knows me will attest to the fact that I’ve loved all my cats dearly but I guess this just goes to show that dogs leave a different kind of hole in your life.

Meanwhile back at the House of Mars, life goes on. Summer has come.

DSCN0538

So it was down with the storm door

DSCN0539

And up with the screen door.

DSCN0566

Which has made Marcel and Marceau happy campers

Speaking of the Brothers Mar, they gradually relinquished their claim on  Marcos’ beds

DSCN0310

DSCN0317

so I donated them (the beds, not The Brothers) to the  Putnam County Humane Society. Every once in a while Marceau does hang out on the futon, but his days are limited. Come Bulk Garbage Pick-up day in October it will be out in the street. That will be sad, but necessary since I’m in the process of restoring the room to its original status – guest room. But like the rooms at the Bed and Breakfast I stayed in recently, it will have a permanent title – The Marcos Room

As for The Marcos Room, I’ve discovered that taking down wallpaper is a journey.

DSCN0587

DSCN0588

As for me, yes life goes on. Followers will recall I took at nasty case of poison ivy with me to Key West last year. Well last week I took a case to St Thomas Virgin Islands,

DSCN0690

a milder dose, but still annoying.

Oh well, some things just don’t change, do they?

5 responses to “Life Goes On

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Before I read that you cried, Virginia, the pinwheel IMMEDIATELY hit me as a simultaneous symbol for life, love, movement, and happiness. Be well, my friend. Warmly, Gretchen

  2. Aw, this post made me cry and smile all at the same time! I love Marcos’ headstone–and the pinwheel. I’m glad to hear that you traveled to the islands, but sorry to hear you took that pesky poison ivy along for the ride! Take care.

  3. Virginia,
    I cried too when reading your post. Wish I had been with you when you visited Marcos’ marker. It is beautiful. Rest in peace, Virginia’s dear friend, your soul’s spirit keeps spiraling out to the universe.

Leave a Reply

