Martian Summers/Manhattan Winters   6 comments

My bucket list dream is to move back to the isle of Manhattan. I don’t keep it a secret. I figure if the universe hears, the universe will provide.

Where would I choose Upper West Side? West Village? East Side? Yes! Only one minor obstacle stands in my way. Money.

And oh, there’s another problem. And it happens every year just around now, when winter has moved on for good. I go outside and, look who’s back.

DSCN0485

 

DSCN0494

 

 

 

DSCN0486

 

DSCN0487

 

 

Would I miss all this? Probably. I feel like a child of divorce torn between two warring parents, each of whom tries to lure me with promises of a dream home.

I’m going to meet a friend in Manhattan on Sunday so I’ll probably be humming New York Frame of Mind next time you hear from me.

But maybe there is a solution. Or is it  a delusion. I could have my cake and eat it too. I don’t have to leave The House of Mars. It can be The Country House of Mars. When winter is busy doing its thing, I’ll be in The City Apartment of Mars, looking down from my terrace at the streets below and singing “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow,” or maybe “Winter Wonderland”

What’s that you say, what about the money I didn’t have a few paragraphs ago. Oh yeah. Hmm. Owning two homes can be pretty expensive. Two mortgages.

You know if 7 of you could come up a loan of $100,000 each, you could consider The Manhattan Apartment of Mars your weekend pied a terre. I could stay at The Country House of Mars and you’d have the whole urban palace to yourself. Go on, check your pockets for any spare big bills.  Look under the couch cushions. Try under the car sear.  That’s a place I’m always finding money.

No one? OK, if 14 of you come up with $50,000 each, I can offer you unlimited visiting rights. You don’t even have to call ahead.

How’s about 28 of you coming up with $25,000? I’ll pay you back. I promise!

Take your time, think about it. No rush. I’ll be here – hanging out with my friends!

DSCN0481

6 responses to “Martian Summers/Manhattan Winters

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great idea! How many rich blogging friends do you have?! LOL

  2. Since you put it that way, I guess I’ll be staying put!

  3. A delusional solution? Maybe not so much. Give it to the universe it will provide! You never know.

  4. A home in NYC sounds delicious, but I don’t think I could give up that wonderful sound of the peepers coming back again in the spring. Here’s a line from ‘Waiting for Frogs’ – Tonight, with windows closed, in quadraphonic sound, all the way up the driveway and even from the back door, I heard them. peep peep peep peep peep”, and so on. You can’t hear that in NYC (well, maybe in Central Park, but I bet not).

  5. Thanks for mentioing peepers. It made me stop just now and listen. Sure enough. Not as many as will be out there in weeks to come,but they’re starting!

Leave a Reply

