Fifty Shades of Gray   8 comments

No, not the book, that’s Fifty Shades of G-r-e-y.  I’m talking about cars. Have you noticed parking lots and streets have turned a paler shade of gray?

                      

 

Last Sunday my friend, A. and I drove into Manhattan. After 15 minutes of cruising the streets I found a parking space, which is the same thing as instantly by Manhattan standards. It wasn’t the biggest of spots, but I did a reasonably good job of parallel parking – only two do-overs. Parallel parking is the only kind of  parking in Manhattan unless you want go to a parking lot or garage – but readers of this blog know I gravitate toward f-r-e-e.

We attended a street festival, and when it was time to head home we walked back along the street where I’d parked the car. Our conversation went like this.

Me:“Look at that, of all the cars on the street, those guys have to lean on my car?”

A: “That’s not your car, that’s a VW.”

Me: “Oh.”

Me: “Oh no, I got a ticket. For what?”

A: “That’s not your car; that’s a Toyota.”

Me“ Man,  almost every car on the street is gray – gray and boxy.”

A: “There’s your car.”

Me: “No, that’s not mine. That car has a red inspection sticker I have a blue one.

A: “There’s your car.”

Me. “Are you sure? I thought I parked closer to the curb.  Yeah, it’s my car. What a lousy parking job”

I came home and set a challenge for myself, and a bet. I bet myself a lottery scratch-off  ticket  that I could do an online search of 2012 car colors and come up with fifty. Are you ready?

 

Hyundai

  • Harbor gray metallic
  • Radiant silver metallic
  • Shimmering- air metallic
  • Shimmering-silver metallic
  • Titanium gray metallic
  • Harbor gray metallic
  • Camel pearl
  • Iridescent silver blue pearl
  • Desert bronze metallic
  • Tungsten metallic


Nissan

  • Brilliant silver
  • Metallic slate
  • Gun metallic

Volkswagen

  • Platinum gray metallic
  • Moon rock silver metallic
  • Tungsten
  • Reflex silver metallic

Ford

  • Sterling gray
  • Ginger ale
  • Ingot silver
  • Light pewter
  • Earth metallic
  • Steel blue metallic
  • Frosted glass

Chevrolet

  • Ashen gray metallic
  • Gray stone metallic
  • Mocha steel metallic
  • Silver ice metallic
  • White Diamond tri-coat
  • Taupe gray metallic
  • Blue granite
  • Ashen gray

Toyota

  • Classic silver metallic
  • Cosmic gray mica
  • Cypress pearl
  • Magnetic gray metallic
  • Shoreline blue mist
  • Silver
  • Flaxen mica
  • Medium silver

 

 

Lexus

  • Mercury metallic
  • Opaline pearl
  • Verdigris mica
  • Truffle mica

Honda

  • Alabaster silver metallic
  • Polished metal metallic
  • White orchid pearl
  • Cool mist metallic
  • Urban titanium metallic
  • Opal sage

And there you have it. I know someone is saying some of those colors don’t sound like they’re gray. But trust me, in each case, the paint chip picture looked gray. Besides when I bought my car, I chose Tungsten metallic. Do you know what I got?

Mouse gray.

That’s why I named him Mighty Mouse.

What about you? Have you succumbed to The Long Gray Line of cars? I’d love to know. Leave me a comment.

8 responses to “Fifty Shades of Gray

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you have too much time on your hands……..lol.

  2. Over the years, Ed and I have succumbed to gray vehicles four times. We had a gray Toyota, a silver Mercury Monarch, a gray Suburban, and we also had a silver/blue Suburban. I love the color, but sometimes we’ve had issues with the paint. The paint on the hood of the Mercury flaked off and had to be repainted, and after our daughter smashed the fender of the gray/blue Suburban, the body shop didn’t do a great job matching the color! I’m still a fan of the color though!

    I have to share this with you. I never knew how old you are, and just assumed you were a younger person, until I read your baby boomer post! When you commented on my b’day post, I couldn’t believe that I’m younger than you. You have a young soul–lucky you! I always look forward to your posts 🙂

  3. Hahahahahaha! My truck and my wife’s minivan are neither gray. But! My sister complains about the same thing, lol. Her car is some kind of gray and she always has trouble finding it in the lot. She insists that she wanted a different color but the only car on the used car lot that matched her specifications was gray. She ended up getting one of those antenna toppers so that she could tell her gray car from the rest. She said that before she did that, she walked up to the wrong cars all the time! Lol.

  4. Hummmmm I have a SILVER Honda Element but don’t see the color on your list of Honda silver cars. Maybe mine is outdated since it is a 2003 and they don’t make that color any longer? Mine is an antique and I am a collector! : )

    Cathie in Colorado

Leave a Reply

