What Kind of Avatar Do You Drive?   4 comments

No, you haven’t missed it.  None of the auto dealers have come up with a model called Avatar. But now that I think of it, it wouldn’t be a bad idea.

There are two definitions for avatar:

The classic one: n.The incarnation of a Hindu deity, especially Vishnu, in human or animal form.

And the Gamer one:

n. a personalized graphic file or rendering that represents a computer user.

A gamer chooses  an avatar of this type when she enters the kill-or-be-killed world of Xbox or  Play Station. Other gamers recognize her by this guise and she in turn recognizes them by the avatar they have fashioned.

Now where was I going with this ?  Oh yes – Kevin.

Back in April, the doors in The House of Mars needed some spring tweaking. The shed door wouldn’t close all the way; the door under my sink would close all the way, but wouldn’t stay shut; and the basement door needed some winter strips replaced. I made an appointment with Kevin  the Carpenter to come take a look.

Kevin is one of the few people I know who is fearless in the face of The Driveway from Hell. Most people park on the road and walk up.

Not Kevin. He has no qualms about tackling the ascent, not only that, but he takes it on, backwards.   It’s a spectacle to behold, one that engages all your senses; the whirlwind of scraping gravel, the cloud of burning rubber, the squealing tires. No it’s not a speedy ascent, but eventually the hefty pick-up claws its way to the top, the ever-present extended ladder strapped to its side, holding on for dear life. But when  a Subaru Outback appeared at the top of the driveway, front first, I went outside to investigate. The door opened and it was Kevin, after all

“I was expecting your truck,” I told him.

“Yeah, nobody knows me without my truck,” he answered.

I didn’t know but I’d soon be echoing his words.

When I first traded in Truckito for my present car, I lost my identity, my avatar. I drove through the neighborhood giving my usual wave to neighbors in their yards but no one waved back. I was no longer the white pick-up truck.

Once the weather got warmer and I was able to roll down my window, there was a delayed reaction before anyone returned my greeting. To a person, they all exclaimed “Oh, I didn’t recognize you without your truck.” Little by little I am taking on a new avatar, a little grey station wagon.

Similar to gamers, some people  choose a type of avatar, er car, that represents a certain style or image they have of themselves. Take my brother, Jim. It is my belief that Jim heard a car honking while in utero and fell madly in love. Jim grew up living for the day when he would get his first car. It was a hand-me-down from my dad, but he saved his money and by the time he graduated from college he made a down payment on a

In 1978 the Charger was giving up the ghost. Jim was married by now so he took on what was in his eyes a more mature avatar

They lived happily ever after until 1986, he and the Camaro that is.  Jim had been divorced for about five years by then. Being a divorced father meant that when the Camaro  came to the end of its road,  he had to make a more economic choice

If I had a dollar for every time he called it an econo-box and two dollars for every time he complained that “This car just isn’t me”, I still wouldn’t be rich, but I’m sure you get my point. Jim was not satisfied with this avatar.

Not every driver sees her car as her particular avatar, but all of us have preconceived notions when we see a certain type of car. C’mon yes you do.

Who do you expect to be driving this?

Her?

or Him?

The man I used to be married developed an algorithm all his own for determining who he least wanted to be driving behind in  a no passing  situation. I guess you could say it was a detailed avatar.

A Buick – be concerned.

A Buick with an old man behind the wheel – be very concerned

A Buick with an old man behind the wheel, wearing a  brimmed hat – sigh and grit your teeth

A  Buick with an old man behind the wheel, wearing a brimmed  hat, with a cigar in his mouth – take  the  next right and figure out an alternate route.

So, what do you drive, and why? Comments are always welcome. And you can be anonymous, your avatar will never tell.

Posted June 12, 2012 by virginiafair in Cars

Tagged with , , , ,

4 responses to “What Kind of Avatar Do You Drive?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s funny that you wrote about this. Over the weekend, Ed and I were just saying how they don’t make cars like they used to–like the old Chevelles and Mustangs. Everything is so “generic-looking” these days. We like a vehicle with “pizzazz”!
    My avatar is a black 2001 PT Cruiser, known as “Classy”. I bought her back when PT Cruisers had just come out, and were rather hard to find. “Classy” and I caused quite a “stir” in our little town, as I had the only one in town for a while. We got a lot of attention back then. I love my little “Classy”, and even though she’s gettin’ on in years, she still has a lot of good miles left on her!

    • My cousin lives in upstate NY up near the Canadian border and she has one. She loves it. She has a great bumper sticker on it – A car is nothing other than a giant handbag.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

