Beware the Apple   2 comments

On the way home  tonight, my attention was drawn to a young woman walking on the opposite side of the street. Since I couldn’t keep my eye on the road and her at the same time, I took a mental picture. It left me with an impression of  Cousin Itt from The Addams Family. She was all hair and no face. The reason being , with her head bent over her smartphone, her long hair had choice but to hang down curtain-like over her face.

Cousin Itt

Cousin Itt

It wasn’t the hair in her face that bothered me. I’ve spent most of my life answering the question “How can you see with your hair over your eye like that?” No, what bothered me was her absorption with the smartphone with not a clue or a care for what might be coming toward her.

Yes, I can hear some of you saying here she goes again, on another smartphone rant. If you’re one of those people,  you’re correctly right!

I’d just left the gym with its share of people who couldn’t rest between sets of exercise without doing something or other on their screens. Afterwards while making my way to my car in the parking lot,  I’d had to correct my course slightly to avoid crashing into a phone zombie young man. I regretted my maneuver immediately wishing I’d sped  up and  lowered my shoulder to meet his so I could offer my hand with an I’m so sorry, I didn’t see you  as I helped him up off his butt. Oh well, maybe next time!

No one seems to be content with the real world anymore, and not just the millennials.   I have friends of my own generation who spend an unconscionable mount of time on their iPads crushing candy.

iPods, iPads, iPhones.

I II

Apple Apple Apple.

Wait  I see the connection. So t hat’s why the Steves,  Jobs and Wozniak chose the name.

 

 

 

Adam & Eve

 

 

snow white

Think about it!

 

 

Posted June 9, 2014 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “Beware the Apple

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aha, I think you’ve got it! I never thought of that! I do Words with Friends, by the way, but I refuse to spend my time crushing candy!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Virginia, you’re a genius! Only you could have made the connection :)
    I SO wish people, of all generations would unplug and enjoy the life around them more! The other day, while at the beach, a man sat in the gazebo, in front of the ocean, and talked on his cell phone the entire time! What a waste of such beautiful surroundings :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

