Memorial Day – Charting New Territory   2 comments

Let me start out by saying I had a very very very enjoyable, fulfilling, peaceful  Memorial Day Weekend – in the company of friends. What could be better?

  • S. came over to The House of Mars for coffee on  Saturday morning and then we went hiking.
  • Sunday I went to  see a movie with C. and enjoyed a wonderful home-cooked dinner at her house afterwards.
  • Monday? Monday I spent the day with the Masters of The House of Mars. Well, kind of. They stayed inside and held down the fort while I caught up on my To-Do  List outdoors. Caught up? No, that’s not  accurate, it’s more like I managed to stay in the race.

In the midst of the three-day weekend, Sunday morning, to be exact,  a wistful memory of Memorial Days past – long past –  tried to ruin my peaceful morning –  a vision of  days in my early 20’s when I used to go in on a summer group house rental at the Jersey Shore. Those were the days my friend! Our first weekend at the shore – a whirlwind of beach, bars, and BBQ’s and looking forward to a summer of the same! Now here I was,  sipping  coffee on the patio, reading  the Sunday Times and glancing from time to time at the  beautiful rhododendron next to me . Not quite the same. But hey, I decided I’m okay with that. To every season, turn turn turn… Life goes on.

DSCN1477

At the movies,  revisited the same peaceful acceptance of what can I call it – growing older (er, er, er growing older, not old) Entering the  lobby of the theater I was surprised to see a line at the ticket booth  – on such a beautiful sunny warm afternoon.  I wasn’t the only one not living it up at the  beach. When we finally had our tickets, senior tickets,  and were in the lobby, C, who was more observant than I, commented. Did you notice everyone on line was buying senior tickets!

And you know what –  that made it better. Now I know what the gang does on Memorial Day Weekend!

 

Unlike those days of old, I met the shortened workweek with  no  sun-burn, no hangover.

DSCN1483

Ya know, Life is still Good

 

2 responses to “Memorial Day – Charting New Territory

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable Memorial Day weekend! Yes, growing old(er) does have some advantages, although I have to keep reminding myself of that! I do love a ‘senior discount’ :)
    By the way, your flowers are lovely!

  2. I love Memorial Day because the blooming Irises remind me of my grandfather. Thanks for making me think of the importance of flowers in my life as markers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

