I Fell For It, Don’t you!   3 comments

Before I accuse supermarkets of a deceitful practice, let me give them the benefit of a very minute doubt. Maybe a customer was careless in replacing a bottle of salad dressing to its rightful place on the shelf.  But the more and more I think about it, the more that doubt shrinks. OK, here’s what happened.

As usual I consulted my supermarket’s weekly flyer and made my list. It’s not easy but sometimes I manage to buy only things that are on sale. Wishbone salad dressing  happened to be one.

DSCN1218

Since I tend to  shop late in the day and at the end of the sale period, items are often sold out. But I was in luck . A few bottles were still on the shelf. I checked the price on the shelf and brought it home.

DSCN1213

Now I don’t always go into a detailed review of my cash register receipt, usually settling for a fast eyeballing of it before I leave the store. But on Saturday I brought it home and went over it.

Wishbone Blue Cheese, $3.99 what the fugazi?  That’s a long way from $1.49!!!!

DSCN1216

I looked at the bottle and saw what had happened. I had bought the 24 oz bottle instead of the 16 oz that was on sale.

DSCN1215

Okay I should have been more careful, but the sign right below it had said On Sale $1.49. Still the burden of making sure falls on me. But, you know this isn’t the first time I’ve come across the wrong size, or even a different brand being “in the wrong place.”….and  not just in this store.

I see it everywhere. So much that I can’t help but  wonder if it’s intentional. In fact  I’ve been meaning to write about it for a while so I’d already been gathering evidence as I came across it.

DSCN0329These are Extra Large, not Large

DSCN0460These are the store brand, not the Vintage brand that were on sale.

So listen, when you’re out there in the aisles,  be careful – don’t grab just anything off the shelf.

DSCN0328If your store has one of these, use it!

Meanwhile, guess what’s in this bag I’ll be bringing back to the store on Saturday?

DSCN1222

Yep!

DSCN1221

Posted January 21, 2014 by virginiafair in supermarket, Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “I Fell For It, Don’t you!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I almost made the same mistake with laundry detergent, the other day! The craziest thing we’ve had happen, lately, was when the cashier at Wal-mart left six cans of dog food sitting on the scales while she proceeded to weigh my bananas! Fortunately, Ed caught her, but not in time to avoid a trip to customer service to get a refund of over three dollars!

  2. Yes, that’s happened to me too, and think we are justified in complaining to management (who is rarely present in the store).

    What I really don’t like is when stores say their store brand is just as good as the competition’s. If that was true, why do they try so hard to have their packaging imitate that of the leading brand so closely, so you mistakenly buy theirs as it’s intermixed on the shelf with the leading brand.

  3. Virginia,again you have captured my attention and made me say, “wow, been there, done that’. I was so frantic in the store yesterday I picked up anything I could get and threw it in the cart. Fortunately, most of it is usable, but a loaf of multi-grain bread not sliced? Was I expecting to use it as an art work? It reminds me of a friend who lived through the blitz in London. She said one night they had to go to the bomb shelter and they left the loaf of bread on the table. When they got back after the all clear, they sat down to table and pretty soon heard a noise and a little head popped up out of the loaf. A mouse had had a feast while they had been hidden away in the bomb shelter. What this memory has to do with anything, I have not clue but it might turn up as a painting later. In the meantime I may cut off a slice and make toast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

