Ladies of a Certain Age Don’t Just Lunch   2 comments

Ladies of a certain age. Ladies who lunch.

I’m not sure which phrase I dislike more. I find both rather condescending. Having said that, I realize I have reached that certain age, especially having just celebrated a birthday which while it wasn’t a milestone, does bring the next milestone into clearer view. But, hey,  I’m okay with that. I’m still going strong, and so are a few of my contemporaries who recently made the news for their prestigious new jobs at an age when most people, male and female, have retired.

The first is Carmen Farina, the new Chancellor of New York City Public Schools, lured out of retirement in Florida by New York’s new mayor, Bill DeBlasio. In fact, mayor DeBlasio’s announcement came on my birthday and served as a present of sorts. If I was experiencing any concern about moving up a number on my age, it vanished when I heard that Chancellor Farina, at 70 and assuming such a  demanding  job, is (even) older than I am.

Carmen Farina

A few days later, Janet Yellen, who just happens to be five months older than me (but who’s counting) was nominated and confirmed as the new head of the Federal Reserve.

Janet Yellen

So what can I say? Ladies of  a certain Age rule.

Now if only people would stop offering me their seat on the subway when I go into the city to  lunch with ladies who lunch.

2 responses to “Ladies of a Certain Age Don’t Just Lunch

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I saw the title of this post, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect! LOL You are a ‘lady of a certain age’ who is still very young at heart! Did I ever tell you that I thought you were ‘thirty-something’ when I first began following your blog? It was quite a while before the subject matter in one of your posts told me different :) You go girl!

    Poor Ed came home, one day last week, distraught because three different people had asked him the dreaded question, “When are you going to retire?” He gets rather tired of hearing this because he’s still ‘young at heart’, too… (His mom worked, as an office nurse, until she was well into her seventies!) Ed would like to retire, if only he could take his paycheck and insurance along, too.

  2. Virginia, you have the most wonderful sense of humor. The way you convey your humorous view of the world in your blog is quiet, dignified but right on target. You sneak up on me and make me laugh every time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

