We Interrupt This Blog To Bring You…….   2 comments

…..an amazing but welcome aberration of nature: this weekend’s temperatures. I’d intended a totally different post but the weather this weekend begged a blog!

Weekends being what they are, I was in the city. I knew it was going to be warm but I guess it didn’t sink in exactly how warm 65 degrees would feel after a Tuesday of snow and days of temps in the teens. If I didn’t know any better I would have thought it was a few days before Easter, not Christmas.

As the infamous “they”say, One picture is worth at least a few words

Judging by the temperature and the sky, it could definitely be April, no, it could be May!

DSCN1120

DSCN1123

But nightfall brought me back to reality, but in a joyous way. That’s the Christmas-lit Empire State Building in the distance.

DSCN1126

It may have been night but the temperatures were holding their own. And people were loving it.

Dining outdoors

DSCN1129

Dispensing with coats

DSCN1135\

DSCN1134

DSCN1136

Even doormen!

DSCN1131

A couple of   hours later I arrived back at the Peekskill train station. What a difference fifty miles can make

DSCN1138DSCN1137

DSCN1142

And another six miles at the House of Mars

DSCN1143

Post Script

I awoke to what I thought was the foggiest morning I’d ever seen.

DSCN1170

Then I realized they were fogged up. It was warmer outside than in. So I opened the windows. Yes, in December!

DSCN1167

And set out to finish my Christmas shopping!

DSCN1172

Merry Christmas to all!

Posted December 22, 2013 by virginiafair in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “We Interrupt This Blog To Bring You…….

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our weather was unseasonably warm, too! I actually wore shorts and Ed grilled some ribs! We sat outside in our swing, too! Not our typical weekend-before-Christmas!

    Have a Merry Christmas, Virginia :)

  2. Merry Christmas, and yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus….he gave us summer in December!!!

    Catherine M. Gaughan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

